William D. Smart Seminars

In 2005, the William D. Smart Seminar Series in Chemistry was established at the University of West Florida thanks to an endowment gift of $100,000 from William and Mary Smart of Pensacola. The endowment allows the Department of Chemistry to distinguished scientists to campus to present and discuss cutting-edge scientific research.

Smart Seminars in Chemistry

Prior to his retirement, Bill Smart was corporate vice president of Abbott Laboratories and president of the Abbott Ross Laboratories Division where he oversaw the development of the Ensure nutritional supplements among many other accomplishments.  In 2011, Mary Smart provided an additional gift to the Smart Seminar Series in Chemistry Endowment which allowed for the expansion of the seminar series to include additional speakers, international scientists, and much more.

The April 2020 Smart Seminar will be rescheduled. The date has not yet been determined.

Translating Academic Research into Commercial Products

Abstract: Over the past couple of decades, more emphasis has been placed on translating academic research into real products and devices. I will use examples from my own research to demonstrate the carious possibilities and processes. We weill discuss a wide array of new materials that range from plastics for the oil and gass industry, the synthesis of pheromones for insect control and medical devices such as a new introcular lens for implanting after cataract surgery. 

Design and Applications of Olefin Metathesis Catalysts

Abstract: Much of modern organic synthesis is based on the development and use of selective catalysts for organic transformations. Olefin metathesis has become one of the general synthetic methods and its broad use has resulted from the development of active and selective catalysts. 

For more information, please contact Dr. Tanay Kesharwani, Assistant Professor of Chemistry (850) 474-2743; tkesharwani@uwf.edu.

Dr. Robert H. Grubbs- Division of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering California Institute of Technology

Robert Grubbs received his B.S. in chemistry (1963) and M.S. in chemistry (1965) from the University of Florida. He received his Ph.D. in chemistry (1968) from Columbia University. He was a NIH Postdoctoral Fellow in chemistry at Stanford University from 1968-69. He was a faculty member at Michigan State University from 1969 to 1978. He is the Victor and Elizabeth Atkins Professor of Chemistry at the California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, California, USA, and faculty member since 1978.

The Grubbs group discovers new catalysts and studies their fundamental chemistry and applications. For example, a family of catalysts for the interconversion of olefins, the olefin metathesis reaction has been discovered in the Grubbs laboratory.  In addition to their broad usage in academic research, these catalysts are now used commercially. He has also been involved in the translation of technology through the founding of five companies. 

His awards have included the Nobel Prize in Chemistry (2005), and ten ACS National Awards. He was elected to the National Academy of Sciences (1989), Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (1994), the Honorary Fellowship of the Royal Society of Chemistry (2006), Fellow of National Academy of Inventors (2014), National Academy of Engineering (2015), Foreign Member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (2014), and of Great Britain’s Royal Society (2017). He has 655+ publications and 160+ patents based on his research.

Future Speakers


Past Smart Seminars

Year Speaker and Topic Location
2019 Dr. Jeffrey S. Moore, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign (Materials) 58A, 101
2018 Dr. Richard D. McCollough, Harvard University (Materials) 58A, 101
2017 Dr. Monica Olvera de la Cruz, Northwestern University (Inorganic) 58A, 101
2016 Dr. John Hartwig, University of Calfornia, Berkeley (Organic)  58A, 101
2015 Dr. Anthony J. Ryan, OBE, University of Sheffield (Polymers) 58A, 101
2014 Dr. Geraldine L. Richmond, University of Oregon (Organic) 58A, 101
2011 Dr. Ken Raymond, University of California (Inorganic) 58A, 101
2010 Dr. Michael Summers, University of Maryland (Organic) 58A, 101
2009 Sir Fraser Stoddart, Northwestern University (Inorganic) 58A, 101
2007 Sir Harry Kroto, Florida State University (Inorganic) 58A, 101