Past Presidents

Presidents of UWF 1964-2008


Dr. John C. Cavanaugh became UWF’s fourth president and the first named by the Board of Trustees on July 15, 2002. During his six years at UWF, the Board of Trustees adopted a new campus master plan, the Florida Legislature approved UWF’s four-year nursing program, the university launched a degree in hospitality, recreation and resort management, graduate classes in historic preservation began in Historic Pensacola Village and the UWF baseball field, renamed Pelican Park, became host to the professional team, Pensacola Pelicans. Additionally, in 2004, Argo Hall student residence and the International Center opened, the campus went wireless, consolidated online teaching resources under the Academic Technology Center and new degrees in public history and environmental science were launched. Also under Cavanaugh’s leadership, UWF survived Hurricane Ivan (2004) and Hurricane Dennis (2005) and became a national model for disaster planning and preparedness. Other accomplishments during Cavanaugh’s presidency included UWF being named host of the Florida Public Archaeology Network; the opening of the Health, Leisure and Sports Facility; university locations in Okaloosa and Walton Counties were renamed the UWF Emerald Coast campuses; the UWF Music Department was named an All-Steinway School; UWF celebrated its 40th anniversary; and the John H. Fetterman State of Florida Maritime Museum and Research Center was announced as a future part of the Pensacola Bay Area Vince J. Whibbs Sr. Community Maritime Park.

President Marx

Dr. Morris Leon Marx, third UWF president, was inaugurated in September 1988. During Marx’s tenure, Congress approved the 136-acre land swap to create the permanent OWC-UWF joint Fort Walton Beach campus, which then opened in 1992. Additionally, the Education specialist program began; the Center for Fine and Performing Arts, College of Education Complex, Student Services building, John G. Martin Hall and John C. Pace Jr. Hall student residence, psychology building and University Village apartments opened; UWF established a Women’s Soccer Team and joined the NCAA Division II; John C. Pace Jr. left UWF his $12 million estate; and the Foundation capital campaign netted $32 million. Other accomplishments during Marx’s presidency included the Argonauts capturing the NCAA Division II national tennis doubles title in 1996 and UWF earning its first national golf championship in 1998. Also notable, in 1997 the university conferred its first doctoral degrees in education, purchased additional land bringing the size of Pensacola’s campus to 1,600-acres and the Archaeology Institute raised the anchor from the Tristan deLuna ship in Pensacola Bay. And, in 2000 and 2001 respectively, students from neighboring Alabama counties became eligible for in-state tuition rates and West Florida Historic Preservation Inc., with its 22 historic properties in Downtown Pensacola, became a direct support organization of UWF.

President Robinson

Dr. James Arthur Robinson, second UWF president, took the helm in December 1974. During his 14 years as president, the university experienced several significant milestones, including the establishment of the campus art gallery, Edward Ball Nature Trail, Small Business Development Center, Natatorium (Aquatic Center), WUWF-FM, Argonaut Baseball and Softball Teams, 400-meter track and Computer Center. Under Robinson’s leadership, the university’s colleges were restructured to traditional arts and sciences, business and education in 1979; UWF switched to the semester system in 1981; and the first freshman class was admitted in 1983.

President Crosby

Dr. Harold Bryan Crosby was selected as the first UWF president and assumed office in July 1964. In his first year, Escambia County purchased 13 parcels of land for $1.2 million to form the 1,000-acre campus, ground was broken for the first UWF buildings, the university adopted the Nautilus shell as its official emblem, the UWF Foundation was chartered and the first classes were offered in the name of the university. Other accomplishments during Crosby’s tenure included the selection of the Argonaut as the UWF Mascot; the university library was named for John C. Pace; university undergraduate programs were accredited by SACS; the UWF Fort Walton Beach Center established; and the first distinguished teaching awards were presented.