In Florida, it is against the law to make a telephone call to a location where the person receiving the call has an expectation of privacy and where the caller makes any obscene comment, does not disclose his/her identity, or repeatedly calls, whether or not there is any conversation, with the sole purpose to harass the receiver. This crime is a second degree misdemeanor and is punishable by a maximum fine of $500 and/or 60 days in jail (Florida State Statute 365.16).
If you receive a single harassing phone call, don’t panic. The caller may have inadvertently dialed the wrong number and never intended to alarm you. Keep the following suggestions in mind if you receive a call from someone you don’t know:
If you receive a pattern of harassing or obscene phone calls:
We take your safety seriously. If you are concerned about harassing phone calls that have you received, please call the UWF Police Department at (850) 474-2415.