Minutes

UWF Staff Senate

Meeting

Alumni Room and via Google Meet

University of West Florida

May 14, 2024

The meeting of the UWF Staff Senate was called to order at 1:30 pm by Staff Senate President Ethan Henley.

Attendance was taken by sign-in of Senators and online participants via Google Meet. The following Senators were present:

Patricia Barlow, Sierra Ebert, Zachary Farrington, Stephanie Fenner, Alycia Grieco, Ethan Henley, Miriam Hoover, Brooke Karas, Jenny Makselan, Nicole McDonald, Angie Quenan, Heather Seitz, Kayla Stanley, Sandra Taylor, Blythe Webster, Barbara Wells.

Proxy Attendance: N/A.

Absent: Tori Bennett, Marisa Elmore, Brett Haskell, Larry King, Monti Stone.

Guests: Dr. Martha Saunders – University President.

Administrative Reports

1. Executive Report - Dr. Martha Saunders - University President.

- Thanks for a very good year.
- Big summer ahead with a lot of facilities projects going on.
- We launched the capital campaign Here for Good Campaign.
- Upcoming more emphasis on automation. More information to come.
- The Gateway project is tentatively scheduled to conclude by the end of June.
- On Thursday, we will be bringing the finance plan for the stadium to the Board of Trustees Committee meetings which includes another residence hall.

2. Approval of Minutes and Treasury Report

Motion to approve April Meeting Minutes.

Motion: Blythe Webster.

Seconded by: Sierra Ebert.

Passed unanimously.

Treasury Report – Treasurer, Brooke Karas, provided there are no new updates to the Treasury Report.

3. Supervisor of Elections

- Supervisor of Elections, Sandra Taylor, shared the following:
 - The following Senators will be rolling off: Gabriel Esmurdoc, Larry King, Nicole McDonald, Kayla Stanley, and Barbara Wells. Alycia Grieco will be resigning.
 - ii. The following Senators will be staying on: Stephanie Fenner, Miriam Hoover, and Monti Stone.
 - iii. Larry King has nominated Pam Weeks, Assistant Director of Environmental Health & Safety, Nicole McDonald has nominated Ann Gilbar, Student Support Specialist on the Emerald Coast Campus, and Sandra Taylor has nominated Nadya Collins, Assistant Director for Institutional Research, for Staff Senate.
 - iv. Formal nominations:
 - 1. Nadya Collins:
 - a. Nomination: Sandra Taylor
 - b. Motion to approve: Heather Seitz
 - c. Seconded by: Sierra Ebert
 - d. Motion passed unanimously.
 - 2. Ann Gilbar:
 - a. Nomination: Nicole McDonald
 - b. Motion to approve: Blythe Webster
 - c. Seconded by: Kayla Stanley
 - d. Motion passed unanimously.
 - 3. Pam Weeks:
 - a. Nomination: Sandra Taylor
 - b. Motion to approve: Miriam Hoover
 - c. Seconded by: Alycia Grieco
 - d. Motion passed unanimously.
- Supervisor of Elections, Sandra Taylor, also shared that Sierra has created an interest form that will be available on the Staff Senate website for individuals interested in joining Staff Senate.

4. Committee Reports

• Textbook Scholarship Committee – Sierra Ebert shared the scholarship application for summer will open Monday, May 20th through May 24th.

5. New Business

- Staff Senate attendance policy Staff Senate President Ethan Henley reminded Senators of the attendance policy. Per the by-laws, no more than three unexcused absences are allowed in a fiscal year and those who violate the policy could be asked to resign their position. If unable to attend, Senators should send a proxy.
- The August Staff Senate meeting will be a refresher / training session.

6. Old Business

• N/A

7. Open Forum

- Staff Senate President Ethan Henley shared a shoutout to Staff Senate for their efforts/initiatives this year with projects such as the Hand to Paw project, the United Way Campaign having raised the most money in the last 5 years, successful ERAP, and Founders Week with participation in the Argo Pantry Food Fight.
- Juneteenth Celebration will be held on June 17th in the Commons Auditorium from 10:30am-1:30pm- Barbara Wells shared the Black Employees Association will be hosting and there will be free food, giveaways, and games.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:01 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Angie Quenan – Secretary

Staff Senate Executive Board

President- Ethan Henley Vice President – Zachary Farrington Supervisor of Elections- Sandra Taylor Secretary- Angie Quenan Treasurer- Brooke Karas Senator at Large- Sierra Ebert Communications- Marisa Elmore