Programming Contests

AITP Intramural programming contest, Friday, February 13, 2015

The UWF chapter of AITP announces its Intramural programming competition:
When: This Friday, February 13.

Time: 12:30 - 5:00pm

Where: bldg 4, rm 349

What will happen:
Competitions will be held in:
1. Java Programming
2. C programming

1. The Java competition will help us identify competitors to go to the AITP 
National Collegiate Conference and programming competition in Omaha, NB. 
for details. Everyone who does well in this competition will be strongly 
considered for an all-expenses-paid trip to National!!

2. The C Programming competition is meant to foster interest in the ACM 
competition hosted by UWF in October of each year.

Please sign up for the competition that interests you by contacting Andrew Haynes ( to let him know that you are interested.

I hope to see you there.

Best regards,

John Coffey 
AITP Chapter Advisor

2015 AFCEA Blue Angles CyberThon!

Come join us Friday, January 23rd, as UWF participates in the AFCEA Cyberthon '15‌ competition at the National Flight Academy.  Volunteers from the DoD Cyber operations and training commands have agreed to mentor and participate in this event intended to generate interest in cybersecurity. 

Cyber experts are needed to fulfill critical cyber missions in both the military and private sectors, so by partnering as a community, and involving students, a cyber-skilled work-force pipeline can be developed for and encouraged to enter the local high-demand cybersecurity career field.  According to Pensacola Today, "More than 2,150 middle and high-school student teams are registered for the national competition this year."

More information can be found here AFCEA Cyberthon, interested viewers can also follow the CyberThon event on Facebook.

UWF WAS PROUD TO HOST THE 2014 ACM Southeast USA Programming Competition!

The Department of Computer Science hosted the 2014 ACM Southeast USA regional programming contest on Saturday, 15 Nov 2014.  UWF was one of three sites hosting the contest in our region of South Carolina, Georgia, Alabama, Florida, and Mississippi. The practice round will be between 11am and noon EST, the contest from 1:30pm to 6:30pm EST. 

5 schools (counting UWF) were scheduled to attend:

  • Bob Jones University
  • Florida State University
  • University of Southern Mississippi
  • University of South Alabama
  • University of West Florida

Thank you to Dr. Bernd Owsnicki-Klewe, Dr. Vimal Kumar, Dr. Ezhil Kalaimannan, and Dr. Laura White!