About the Division

Information about the Division of Anthropology and Archaeology

The Division of Anthropology and Archaeology includes the disciplines of anthropology, archaeology, and sociology. The Division consists of four integrated units: the Department of Anthropology, the Archaeology InstituteMarine Services, and the headquarters of the Florida Public Archaeology Network (FPAN).

All Department faculty members teach and conduct research, and students are included in all research projects. The Archaeology Institute has several archaeologists who teach and conduct student-based archaeology projects. The UWF Archaeology Institute is the largest in Florida dedicated to archaeology, and the UWF Anthropology program specializes in providing students with hands-on experience in anthropology, which sets it apart from others.

 For more information about our academic programs, faculty, research, facilities, and field schools, please use the links in the navigation bar to the left. If you have further questions, don't hesitate to contact us!