Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Overview | University of West Florida
Skip to main content

Scholarships & Awards Overview

Please follow the links below to learn more about the scholarships and awards available to qualified UWF students.

Image of a white Mortarboard on a blue background.

Theodore R. & Vivian M. Johnson Scholarship - The Johnson Scholarship, funded by the Theodore R. and Vivian M. Johnson Scholarship Foundation, Inc., is a competitively awarded program which is available to undergraduate students with disabilities who enroll in a State University System of Florida (SUS) institution.

Dan McLeod Memorial Scholarship - The Dan McLeod Memorial Scholarship is a competitively awarded scholarship which is available to undergraduate and graduate students with disabilities who attend the University of West Florida (UWF).  Students must adhere to the following application guidelines in order to qualify for consideration.

Jeffrey Scott Henshall Scholarship - The Jeffrey Scott Henshall Scholarship is controlled by Social Work, as directed by the donor, is available to UWF students with a disability or whose focus is disability related. Funds will also provide maintenance of a plaque located in the Department of Social Work with the awardee names. Awards will be determined by a Scholarship Committee from the Division of Social Work's Professional Advisory Board. Students can find additional information and apply through the UWF Scholarship Portal.

Learning Ally's National Achievement Award - Each year, Learning Ally offers two endowed scholarship awards for outstanding students with print and learning disabilities. The recipients of these awards are role models of success and inspiration to students throughout the country. The top three winners from each program receive a $6,000 scholarship award and participate at a national celebration in Washington, DC.

The Washington Center for Internships and Academic Seminars - The Washington Center is able to provide a total of 50 competitive scholarship awards for eligible undergraduate students with disabilities interested in working in the executive, judicial or legislative branches of the federal government during the fall and spring semesters (scholarships are not available in the summer).

Schwallie Family Scholarship for Post-Secondary Education - In 2008, OAR introduced the Schwallie Family Scholarship to support the post-secondary, undergraduate education of qualified individuals with an autism spectrum diagnosis. Schwallie Family Scholarships are supported through generous gifts from the family of former Board member, Ed Schwallie. In 2013, we announced the Lisa Higgins Hussman Scholarship Program, an expansion of our scholarship program that benefits students attending any of the types of institutions that fall under the Schwallie Family Scholarship Program criteria, as well as any of the growing number of certificate and life skills/transition programs in the country. Board member and Scholarship Committee chairwoman, Lisa Hussman, championed the initiative, which is supported through a generous gift from the Lisa Higgins Hussman Foundation. As of December 1, 2015, we have awarded a total of $584,500 to 191 students from across the country.

The Kelsey B. Diamantis TS Scholarship Family Foundation - Dollars 4 Tics Scholars is a charitable non-profit organization created for the purpose of awarding college scholarships to students with Tourette Syndrome, a chronic tic disorder. Our scholarship foundation was established on May 24, 2014. All the requirements are listed in the application, which can be found on the website at the above URL. For any questions, contact: Diane Diamantis, Co-Founder & President (561) 487-9526 or

To request this page or any information referenced on the page in an alternative format, please email