Scholarships & Awards Overview

Please follow the links below to learn more about the scholarships and awards available to qualified UWF students.

Road to Success road sign.

Theodore R. & Vivian M. Johnson Scholarship - The Johnson Scholarship, funded by the Theodore R. and Vivian M. Johnson Scholarship Foundation, Inc., is a competitively awarded program which is available to undergraduate students with disabilities who enroll in a State University System of Florida (SUS) institution.

Dan McLeod Memorial Scholarship - The Dan McLeod Memorial Scholarship is a competitively awarded scholarship which is available to undergraduate and graduate students with disabilities who attend the University of West Florida (UWF).  Students must adhere to the following application guidelines in order to qualify for consideration.

Applications for the Johnson and McLeod scholarships will be available in the Spring Semester of 2015.

Learning Ally's National Achievement Award - Each year, Learning Ally offers two endowed scholarship awards for outstanding students with print and learning disabilities. The recipients of these awards are role models of success and inspiration to students throughout the country. The top three winners from each program receive a $6,000 scholarship award and participate at a national celebration in Washington, DC.

The Washington Center for Internships and Academic Seminars - The Washington Center is able to provide a total of 50 competitive scholarship awards for eligible undergraduate students with disabilities interested in working in the executive, judicial or legislative branches of the federal government during the fall and spring semesters (scholarships are not available in the summer).

Schwallie Family Scholarship for Post-Secondary Education - In 2008, the Organization for Autism Research (OAR) introduced the Schwallie Family Scholarship Program to support qualified individuals with autism or Asperger Syndrome residing in the United States pursuing post-secondary education. OAR will present awards of $3,000 each across three categories: 1) Four-year undergraduate college or university; 2) Two-year undergraduate college, and; 3) Trade, technical or vocational school. These will be one-time awards for any recipient.