STUDENT ACCOUNTS/CASHIERS


Cashier                                                            Student Accounts

850-474-3035 or 850-474-3110                        850-474-3037
Fax:  850-474-2320                                           Fax:  850-474-2320
cashier@uwf.edu                                            stuacct@uwf.edu

 Collections                                                      Financial Aid

850-474-3039                                                    850-474-2400
Fax:  850-474-2320                               
collect@uwf.edu or bbarber@uwf.edu          finaid@uwf.edu

Student’s Right to Privacy (FERPA)

A student’s right to privacy is protected under FERPA – The Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act. This regulation is explained in detail on the Registrar’s website. What this means is that we will not discuss your student account with anyone unless you have given us written authorization to do so. The Authorization for Release of Student Information (pdf) (FERPA) must be completed and submitted to the Registrar’s Office in order for any UWF staff member to discuss your student record with someone other than you.

Tuition and Fees

The tuition for the University of West Florida includes base tuition and mandatory fees. The schedule of tuition, fees and other special fees applies to all regularly enrolled students at the University of West Florida. Required fees are established by the Florida Board of Governors, Florida Legislature, and UWF’s Board of Trustees and are generally updated each fall term. The University will make every possible effort to advertise any changes in fees when, and if, they occur.

You are required to complete a Financial Responsibility Statement through your MyUWF account prior to registering each term. This statement outlines the terms and conditions of the financial responsibilities and obligations associated with attending the University of West Florida.

2014-15 Tuition and Fees
The standard per credit tuition amounts for 2014-15 are listed below. Online, material and supplies, and other miscellaneous fees are not included. Detailed fee information is available on the Registrar’s Office website.

Undergraduate
FL resident - $211.98/credit hour
AL resident - $316.98/credit hour
Non-FL resident - $641.37/credit hour

Graduate
FL resident - $377.60/credit hour
AL resident - $482.60/credit hour
Non-FL resident - $1037.24/credit hour

Payment of Fees

Fees may be paid by any of the following methods:

1.    Tuition and fees, housing, and mandatory meal plans may be paid online using your checking or savings account through CashNet via MyUWF. An echeck payment results in an electronic debit of your bank account. There is no additional fee assessed for an echeck payment. If your payment is returned unpaid by your bank for any reason, your student account will be assessed a return item fee.
2.    Credit and debit cards may also be used to make payments for tuition and fees, housing, and mandatory meal plans through CashNet via MyUWF. The University partners with CashNet to process credit and debit card payments and a convenience fee of 2.75% will be charged. This fee will be added to your total payment and is non-refundable.  The convenience fee of 2.75% will be displayed prior to completion of the transaction. Your completion of the transaction acknowledges acceptance of these payment terms.
3.    Students that elect to pay with their Higher One OneAccount debit card will not be assessed a convenience fee.
4.    Students may elect to pay with a Foreign Currency online through CashNet via MyUWF. Western Union, a respected leader in the realm of currency exchange, provides a mechanism to facilitate foreign currency payments.
5.    A parent portal will be available for online payments through CashNet. Student authorization is required.
6.    Payments by cash, check, money order, or traveler's check may be made in person at the University Cashier's Office, Building 20 East, 8:15 a.m. - 4:45 p.m. CST, Monday -Friday, for tuition and fees, housing, mandatory meal plans, and other miscellaneous charges.
7.    Drop-Box depository located at Building 20 East on the main campus. All payments must be in an envelope and include the student's name and UWF ID number to ensure correct and timely processing. Payments must be deposited in the depository by the close of business on the fee payment due date to be considered on time. Do not include cash when using the drop-box.
8.    By mail. Mail must be received by the due date to be considered on time. Postmark date is not considered on time. All payments must include the student's name and UWF ID number to ensure correct and timely processing. Mail payments to UWF Cashier's Office, 11000 University Parkway, Building 20 East, Pensacola, FL 32514-5750.

Students paying fees by mail or by drop-box depository must include all fee payment documents (original copies of fee waiver forms, fee deferment forms, tuition aid forms, etc.) to ensure proper and timely credit for payment. Students are expected to meet all financial obligations as they become due. UWF reserves the right to cancel the registration of students who fail to promptly meet their financial obligations to the University. Students may not pay delinquent account balances applicable to a prior academic year from financial aid awards applicable to the current academic year. All delinquent balances must be paid in full prior to the disbursement of current term financial aid. It is each student’s responsibility to stay informed of all registration and fee payment dates, deadlines, and other requirements by referring to the Academic Calendar and viewing their Account Balance in CashNet via MyUWF. If necessary, students should inform their parents or other interested parties of the deadline dates and the necessity for meeting them.

Deadlines

 

Tuition and fees, housing, and mandatory meal plan charges are due at the end of the drop/add period.  It is the student’s responsibility to be aware of deadlines as posted in your MyUWF Account Balance and the Academic Calendar.  Authorized deferment status may be granted under certain conditions.  All students in a deferred fee payment status should review their Account Balance in MyUWF to verify the deferred status.  Failure to pay all fees or receive authorized deferred payment status by the fee payment due date will result in the assessment of a $100 late payment fee or cancellation of the student's registration.

A student becomes liable for his or her tuition upon registration. There are only two due dates per term. Fees for courses remaining on the student’s schedule at the end of the drop/add period must be paid by the fee payment due date. The start date of your earliest class determines your fee payment due date. Payment for classes added after the initial due date are due immediately. For more information and specific examples refer to the Student Financial Services web page at http://uwf.edu/financial/

Payments are applied to charges on your tuition account in order of the charge due dates. For charges with the same due date, payments are applied first to tuition and mandatory fees and then to other charges on your account. 

Failure to pay tuition by the end of the 2nd week of the term, or make arrangements for deferred status or partial payment, are subject to being dropped from classes due to non-payment.  Students whose registration is canceled due to non-payment may appeal for reinstatement and will be assessed a $200 reinstatement fee. The student will be held liable for all fees assessed for courses remaining on the student’s registration at the close of the drop/add period for which a partial payment of fees has occurred or an authorized fee deferment status has been granted. Under such circumstances, the student’s registration may or may not be canceled. An administrative hold will be placed on the student’s record until the course fees and the late fees are paid in full.

Students who have delinquent balances at the University (financial aid billings, loans, library fines, traffic fines, etc.) must pay these fees in full to avoid assessment of additional collection costs. Failure to pay the balance will result in holds being placed which will prevent registration as well as the release of diplomas, grades, and transcripts. Holds could also prevent the release of financial aid.

Veterans (VA) Deferments

Deferral eligibility is granted to students receiving veterans’ education benefits from federal programs if aid is delayed in transmission to the student through circumstances beyond the student’s control.

Veterans and other eligible students receiving veterans' education benefits on active duty and under Chapters 30, 32, 33, 35, 1606, and 1607, U.S.C., are eligible for one deferment each academic term. A 90-day deferment may be issued for the fall and spring terms and a 30-day deferment may be issued for the summer and mini-terms. An additional deferment extension may be issued if there is a delay in the receipt of benefits provided the extension is requested prior to the deferment due date.

A veteran may request a deferment (promissory note) via their VA Enrollment Certification in MyUWF or at the VSO for the amount of tuition and fees. The VSO will submit the approved promissory note to the University Cashiers Office prior to the fee payment due date. Failure to make payment by the deferment due date will result in the assessment of a $100 late payment fee. Students who do not make payment or request a deferment may have their registration canceled. Students whose registration is canceled due to non-payment may appeal for reinstatement and will be assessed a $200 reinstatement fee. If a student has available financial aid, it will be used prior to the posting of the deferment to pay tuition, fees and other charges. 

 The University reserves the right to deny deferral status to students who have established an unfavorable credit rating.

Payment Options

Payment of Fees

Fees may be paid by any of the following methods:

1.    Tuition and fees, housing, and mandatory meal plans may be paid online using your checking or savings account through MyUWF. An echeck payment results in an electronic debit of your bank account. There is no additional fee assessed for an echeck payment. If your payment is returned unpaid by your bank for any reason, your student account will be assessed a return item fee.
2.    Credit and debit cards may also be used to make payments for tuition and fees, housing, and mandatory meal plans through MyUWF. The University partners with CashNet to process credit and debit card payments and a convenience fee of 2.75% will be charged. This fee will be added to your total payment and is non-refundable.  The convenience fee of 2.75% will be displayed prior to completion of hte transaction. Your completion of the transaction acknowledges acceptance of these payment terms.
3.    Students that elect to pay with their Higher One OneAccount debit card will not be assessed a convenience fee.
4.    Students may elect to pay with a Foreign Currency online through MyUWF. Western Union, a respected leader in the realm of currency exchange, provides a mechanism to facilitate foreign currency payments.
5.    A parent portal will be available for online payments through CashNet. Student authorization is required.
6.    Payments by cash, check, money order, or traveler's check may be made in person at the University Cashier's Office, Building 20 East, 8:15 a.m. - 4:45 p.m., Monday -Friday, for tuition and fees, housing, mandatory meal plans, and other miscellaneous charges.
7.    Drop-Box depository located at Building 20 East on the main campus. All payments must be in an envelope and include the student's name and UWF ID number to ensure correct and timely processing. Payments must be deposited in the depository by the close of business on the fee payment due date to be considered on time. Do not include cash when using the drop-box.
8.    By mail. Mail must be received by the due date to be considered on time. Postmark date is not considered on time. All payments must include the student's name and UWF ID number to ensure correct and timely processing. Mail payments to UWF Cashier's Office, 11000 University Parkway, Building 20 East, Pensacola, FL 32514-5750.

Students paying fees by mail or by drop-box depository must include all fee payment documents (original copies of fee waiver forms, fee deferment forms, tuition aid forms, etc.) to ensure proper and timely credit for payment. Students are expected to meet all financial obligations as they become due. UWF reserves the right to cancel the registration of students who fail to promptly meet their financial obligations to the University. Students may not pay delinquent account balances applicable to a prior academic year from financial aid awards applicable to the current academic year. All delinquent balances must be paid in full prior to the disbursement of current term financial aid. It is each student’s responsibility to stay informed of all registration and fee payment dates, deadlines, and other requirements by referring to the Academic Calendar and viewing their Account Balance in MyUWF. If necessary, students should inform their parents or other interested parties of the deadline dates and the necessity for meeting them.

Tuition Installment Plan (TIP)

The University of West Florida provides students with an alternative to paying full tuition at the beginning of each term. Eligible students may apply for the Tuition Installment Plan. The TIP allows students the flexibility to pay tuition in two equal installments.  One-half of the total tuition and fees is payable by the close of the drop/add period with the remainder payable by midterm.

The TIP application is only available online through MyUWF and must be submitted before the end of the first week of the term. The first installment is due at the time of enrollment in the plan.  Each installment must be paid by the appropriate fee payment due date to avoid assessment of a $100 late payment fee.  Students must have a favorable credit rating with the University to be eligible for the Tuition Installment Plan. A $15 service charge will be added to all TIPs. Contact the Student Accounts Office at (850) 474-3037 for detailed information.

Short Term Loan

Students in good financial standing with the university are eligible to apply for a Short term Loan up to $500.00.  The application is submitted through the student's MyUWF account and an electronic promissory note signed.  Short Term Loans along with the service charge are due before the end of the semester in which issued; the due date is included on the promissory note.  

Florida Prepaid College Program

The Florida Prepaid College Program is not financial aid.  Rather, it is a third party billing plan and is processed by the University Cashiers Office.  Florida Prepaid participants are automatically downloaded from the Florida Prepaid website.  Billing to Florida Prepaid is automatic based on the number of undergraduate credit hours a student is enrolled in each semester and the student's number of available Florida Prepaid hours.

There are different types of Florida Prepaid plans. The type of plan a student purchased will determine the amount per credit hour Florida Prepaid will pay each term.  No Florida Prepaid plan pays material and supply fees, online fees, transportation fees, technology fees, or green fees.  Any portion of the student's account balance not covered by Florida Prepaid or other financial aid must be paid by the fee payment due date or it will result in the assessment of a $100 late payment fee.

If a student chooses not utilize their Florida Prepaid for any reason , they must notify the University Cashiers Office each term prior to the fee payment deadline.

3RD Party Authorizations & Waivers

Contracts and Fees Paid by 3rd Party/Agency

Students who are registering for courses which will be partially or fully paid by a sponsoring agency must bring the contract or authorization form and partial payments, if applicable, to the Cashiers Office during the registration period. Students should review their Account Balance in MyUWF and verify their deferred status during the designated fee payment period.  If the authorization is to be mailed to the Cashiers Office by the agency, it must be received by the fee payment due date.

Deferment is permitted provided formal contractual arrangements have been made with the University for payment by an approved third party. The University Controller is charged with the responsibility for negotiating third party contracts.

Students are ultimately responsible for all tuition and fees.  If the agency (including the Veterans' Administration) has not paid tuition and fees by the end of the semester, the student is required to pay all tuition and fees in full. Failure to do so will result in an administrative hold being placed on the student's record and the assessment of a $100 late payment fee.

 

Tuition Waivers

Students who are registering for courses which will be partially or fully paid by a tuition waiver must submit the authorization form to the appropriate office during the registration period.  Students should review their Account Balance in MyUWF and verify the waiver status during the designated fee payment period. Any portion of the student's account balance not covered by a tuition waiver, or other financial aid, must be paid by the fee payment due date. Failure to meet these requirements will result in the assessment of a $100 late payment fee.

Examples of waivers include:

UWF Employee Tuition Waiver Program - Eligible full-time UWF employees are permitted to take up to six credit hours of undergraduate or graduate coursework at UWF per term (fall, spring, summer) without payment of tuition or mandatory fees. Certain portions of course fees are not covered by the waiver and must be paid by the employee or dependent by the fee payment due date to avoid the assessment of a $100 late payment fee or the cancellation of registration.  Employees may also assign up to six of their undergraduate credit hours or up to three graduate credit hours to their dependents. Courses such as directed studies, practicums, internships, music and theater performance, continuing education, and other one-on-one course situations such as theses and dissertations are not authorized.

State Employee – Six Credit Hours Free Benefit - State Employees are eligible for six hours of “tuition free” courses per term (fall, spring, and summer). Certain portions of course fees are not covered by the waiver and must be paid by the fee payment due date to avoid the assessment of a $100 late payment fee or the cancellation of registration. Refer to State Employees on the Registrar’s website or in the Registration Policies and Procedures section of the UWF Catalog for detailed procedures and policies.

Graduate Assistantships - Graduate assistants who have at least a .25 FTE appointment may be eligible for a matriculation fee waiver which applies to a portion of the in-state tuition. Out-of-state graduate assistants may be eligible for a waiver of the out-of-state portion of the tuition. Contact the Graduate School at (850) 473-7716 or the academic department for further information.

Dual Enrolled or Early Admitted Students - High school students enrolled in dual enrollment or early admission programs pursuant to Florida Statutes articulated acceleration will be exempt from the payment of tuition and mandatory fees. Refer to sections on Registration and Admissions in the UWF Catalog for more information.

Florida National Guard - Certain members of the active duty Florida National Guard may be exempt from the payment of one-half of the cost of tuition and fees for courses on a space-available basis only. Students using this waiver may not register for courses subject to the waiver until the last day of registration. Certain members of the Florida National Guard may qualify for that portion of fees not otherwise waived to be paid directly by the Florida Department of Military Affairs when authorized by that agency. 

Purple Heart - Recipients of the Purple Heart or other combat decoration superior in precedence may receive a tuition and fees waiver. The student must be enrolled in an undergraduate program of study leading to a degree or certificate, is currently and was at the time of the military action that resulted in the awarding of the combat decoration a resident of Florida, and submits a copy of the Department of Defense Form 214 (DD-214) as documentation that the student received the Purple Heart or other combat decoration superior in precedence. The waiver is applicable for 110 percent of the number of required credit hours of the degree or certificate program for which the student is enrolled. 

Senior Citizens—Florida Residents - Individuals who are 60 years or older and who meet Florida residency requirements may enroll on a space available basis without payment of the application and registration fee. Contact the Office of the Registrar at (850) 474-2244 for more information.

Florida Department of Children and Family Services - Students shall be exempt from paying tuition and fees if the student is or was at the time he or she reached the age of 18 in the custody of DCF or a relative under s. 39.5085; who was adopted from the DCF after May 5, 1997; or was placed in a guardianship by a court after spending at least 6 months in the custody of DCF after reaching 16 years of age. The student must provide certification of eligibility from the Florida Department of Children and Family Services. This exemption shall remain valid until the time the student reaches 28 years of age, shall be limited to undergraduate degree programs, and shall not exceed 120 credit hours. 

Special Risk Dependent - Dependents of special risk members as defined in Sections 112.190 and 112.191, Florida Statutes (law enforcement, correctional and correctional probation officers and fire fighters), killed in the line of duty are eligible for waiver of tuition and fees under certain circumstances. The amount waived shall not exceed 120 credit hours. The benefit shall continue until the student's 25th birthday for dependent children. The benefits provided to a spouse must commence within 5 years after the death occurs and shall continue until the 10th anniversary of that death. Only a student in good standing may receive the benefits thereof.

Out-of-State Students Out-of-state students, including, but not limited to, students who are undocumented for federal immigration purposes who meet the following conditions are eligible for a waiver of out-of-state fees: attended a secondary school in Florida for 3 consecutive years immediately before graduating from a high school in Florida; apply for enrollment within 24 months after high school graduation; and, submit an official Florida high school transcript as evidence of attendance and graduation. The waiver is applicable for 110 percent of the required credit hours of the degree or certificate program for which the student is enrolled in. A student who is granted an out-of-state fee waiver is not eligible for state financial aid.

Congressman C.W. “Bill” Young Veteran Tuition Waiver Program Honorably discharged veterans of the United States Armed Forces, the United States Reserve Forces, or the National Guard who physically reside in Florida while enrolled in the institution are eligible for a waiver of out-of-state fees. The veteran must present to the University a copy of the Department of Defense Form 214 (DD-214) and documentation as proof that the veteran physically resides in Florida. Application is required at the beginning of each academic year. The waiver is applicable for 110 percent of the required credit hours of the degree or certificate program for which the student is enrolled. 

1098-T Tax Benefit Form

The University is required by the IRS to furnish the 1098-T to students.  The tuition statement includes the amount of tuition assessed during the tax year, excluding health and transportation fees.  It also includes the amount of scholarships, grants, employer payments for tuition, and VA payments received by the student.  Loan amounts are not included on a 1098-T.  

1098-T’s are available the last week of January for the previous tax year and are accessed through the student's MYUWF account.

 The University of West Florida is not in a position to advise you regarding your eligibility for any income tax credit or to assist you with preparing your income tax return.  For official IRS information refer to IRS Publication 970, Tax Benefits for Higher Education, or the IRS web site.

Financial Aid Disbursement

Disbursement

At the University of West Florida, Student Financial Services and the Financial Aid Office are involved in the processing of financial aid. The Financial Aid Office determines a student’s eligibility and awards the student accordingly. Student Financial Services is responsible for applying these funds to the student’s account once they have been released by the Financial Aid Office and all eligibility requirements have been fulfilled.

Student Financial Services strives to have all eligible financial aid refunded by the end of the second week of classes. All debts owed to the University are paid first and any financial aid over and above these expenses is sent to Higher One as a refund to the student.   The processing of financial aid awards continues throughout fee payment and the drop/add period. Late awards of financial aid are processed in the same manner throughout each academic term.

Students who have not been awarded financial aid or whose awards have not been processed due to an unresolved disbursement issue in the Financial Aid Office must pay their fees by an alternate means by the fee payment deadline to avoid a late payment fee.  In addition, any balance over and above the amount that is covered by available financial aid must be received in the University Cashiers Office by the fee payment due date to avoid assessment of a $100 late payment fee.  A Title IV authorization is required in order to pay “non-allowable” charges.  Financial aid will not be disbursed until the non-allowable charges are paid or this form is on file with the Student Accounts Office.

 

Title IV Authorization

Federal financial aid awards (Pell, SEOG, Subsidized, Unsubsidized, PLUS and Perkins Loans) can only be used to pay for tuition and fees, housing, meal plans, and the university ID card.  Students may use their federal financial aid to pay other charges on their account by signing the Title IV Authorization Form‌. This form gives UWF permission to apply federal aid to miscellaneous charges on the student account, such as bookstore charges, library fines, and parking tickets.  This form will be available in MyUWF and will be valid for all subsequent semesters once submitted unless a change is initiated by the student.

 

 

Higher One

UWF has contracted with Higher One, Inc. to handle processing of all financial aid disbursement and refunds (with the exception of credit card payments). When you register for classes, for the first time, you will receive a UWF Debit card in the mail. It is the responsibility of each student to keep their current address updated with the Office of the Registrar. Address changes can be made in person or over the web.  You must use the card to access the Higher One system online and activate your account by selecting one of the options below.

 

Note: The UWF Debit Card only becomes active if option 2 is chosen.  

Students have 2 options for refunds:

  1. Have their financial aid (after University charges are deducted) direct deposited to an existing savings or checking account of their choice by providing this information to Higher One.  ACH forms are available via the Higher One website.
  2. Have their financial aid (after University charges are deducted) deposited to a Higher One debit card. Students will be able to use their Higher One debit card anywhere MasterCard is accepted. With this option you are activating the UWF debit card; the card is not an active debit card unless this option is selected.

 

Activate your UWF Higher One Account

 

Do not discard the Higher One debit card, even if you do not activate it.  There is a $10 replacement card fee if it is lost or discarded.  For additional information, contact Student Accounts during normal business hours or Higher One Customer Service at (800) 815-1670, 7:00 a.m. – 7:00 p.m. Monday-Friday.

UWF Bookstore Deferment

Students who qualify for the Bookstore Deferment Program have the option of using excess financial aid to purchase textbooks at the UWF Bookstore prior to their aid being disbursed.  Eligible students will receive an email through their UWF email address.

This deferment is not an additional award but an estimated amount based upon the student’s financial aid award less unpaid charges on his/her MyUWF account.  The maximum deferment amount is $800.00.  In order to qualify for the deferment, students must be enrolled in the minimum number of hours required for their financial aid award.

By signing the bookstore receipt, students are authorizing the University of West Florida to deduct the University Bookstore charges from their financial aid awards.  In the event their financial aid status changes, students are responsible for any purchases made under this program.

Participation in this program is voluntary. If you do not wish to participate, no further action is required, and there will be no deduction to your financial aid.

Perkins Loan - Promissory Note & Exit Counseling

If you were awarded a Perkins Loan, an electronic promissory note is available for E-Sign. Sign your Perkins Promissory Note.  A signed promissory note is required prior to disbursement of your first Perkins Loan.  This promissory note is in addition to the promissory note you have for any Federal Direct Loans.

Perkins Loan Exit Counselingis required at time of graduation or upon withdrawal from UWF. The link is available in MyUWF.  Once again, this exit counseling is in addition to the requirement for any Federal Direct Loan.

Refunds and Payments

Refunds

The late payment fee and late registration fee is nonrefundable unless waived by the University Fee Appeals Committee.

Full refunds will be made to the student when a course is canceled by the University or when a student is denied access to a University course.

During the drop/add period the per credit hour fee will be fully refunded for each semester hour or course(s) dropped during the drop/add period.

A student who officially withdraws from all classes at the university within the first four weeks of the semester will be entitled to a refund of 25% of the per credit hour fee for classes for which the drop/add period has passed.  Withdrawal from classes for which the drop/add period has not passed will be treated as a drop and the per credit hour fee will be fully refunded.

 

Return of Title IV

Withdrawals and Federal Financial Aid

The University of West Florida is required by federal regulation to monitor financial aid students who receive Title IV Funds (Pell, SEOG, Direct Loans, Perkins and Plus Loans).  Students who have officially or unofficially withdrawn from all courses before completing more than 60 percent of the semester are not eligible for 100 percent of their federal financial aid.

The University is required to return the unearned portion of the Title IV Funds to the Federal Department of Education.  Returned unearned aid that is related to federal loans, will be applied to the outstanding balance of the loans.

Financial aid that is returned to the Federal Department of Education will become a debt that the student owes the university.  This amount will be placed on the student’s account and a hold will be placed on the student account preventing registration, grades and transcripts.  Contact the Student Accounts Office for exact dates and repayment requirements (850-474-3038 or stuacct@uwf.edu).

If a student is eligible to receive a refund from the University for tuition and fees, housing, meal plans or other charges, the University will apply the refund against the debt that results from unearned aid.

Official Withdraw Date – the date you officially withdrew from all of your classes.

Unofficial Withdraw Date – if you stop attending without officially withdrawing, the last documented date of attendance or participation will be the withdrawal date.  If all grades are a combination of F, W and I (incomplete) your professors will be asked to report the last date of attendance or participation.  This information will be used to determine your eligibility for federal aid.

Non Attendance - If an instructor reports that you did not begin attendance in a class, even if you officially withdrew from the class, then your federal aid will be reviewed to determine your eligibility.

 

Here is an example of a Return of Title IV Official Withdrawal calculation:

The calculation for Return of Title IV fund is based on the percent of aid using the following Federal Return of Title IV funds formula:

                                                    
Percent of Aid Earned    =           Number of days completed
                                              Totals number of days in semester

Funds are returned to the appropriate Title IV program based on the following formula:


Title IV Aid to be returned = 100% of aid - % of aid earned x Lesser of the amount of aid disbursed or
                                                                                                   Amount of qualified institutional charges

 

Federal Regulations require Title IV aid to be refunded in the following order:

Federal Direct Unsubsidized Stafford Loans
Federal Direct Subsidized Stafford Loans
Federal Perkins Loans
Federal Direct Graduate PLUS Loans
Federal Direct PLUS Loans (for parents)
Federal Pell Grants
Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grants
Iraq & Afghanistan Service Grants
 

An Example of a Return of Title IV Official Withdrawal:
Student was a freshman living on campus during the Fall semester. 

Student’s financial aid package included:
Pell Grant of $2500
Subsidized Direct Loan of $4000
Total Aid:  $6500

Student’s charges included:
Tuition and Fees $2000
Housing $2500
Meal Plan $1800
Books $400
Total Charges: 6700

 

Using Federal Aid Awarded  in computation:

Student withdraws on day 50 out of 111 days in the semester.  50/111 = 45% of the semester completed, so this students earned 45% of Title IV funds. 
Title IV funds = $6500
Multiply by percent earned  =  45%
$6500 X 45% = $2925
$2925 is earned Title IV aid

Title IV funds to be returned:
Total Title IV funds minus earned Title IV funds = funds to be returned to Department of Education.
$6500 - $2925 = $3575.

 

Using Qualified Charges (Tuition, Housing, Meal Plan and Books) in computation:

Student withdraws on day 50 out of 111 days in the semester. 50/111 = 45% of the semester completed, so this student earned 45% of Title IV funds.
Qualified Charges = $6700
Multiply by percent earned  =  45%
$6700 X 45% = $3015.

Title IV funds to be returned:
Total qualified charges minus (earned percentage X qualified charges) = funds to be returned to Department of Education.
$6700 - $3015 = $3685.

The University must return to the Federal DOE Program the lesser of the two computations above.  In this case, based on the order of Title IV repayments, $3575 would be returned to the Subsidized Loan Program and the student would then owe this amount to the university. This amount would be placed on the student’s accounts receivable, prohibiting any registration activity and/or the receipt of academic transcripts or diplomas until these funds are repaid. If these funds are not repaid to the University, UWF will turn the charge over to a collection agency.

Students who withdraw from all courses during the published 25% refund period, will have their refunds applied to their accounts receivable. In addition, students with extenuating circumstances may request a refund of tuition through the fee appeals process. Amounts awarded via the appeal process will be applied first to the student’s accounts receivable.

Feedback

Feedback