# HONORARY AWARDS & RECOGNITION COMMITTEE MEETING Bldg. 10, Crosby Hall Lower Level Conference Room February 16, 2015 Minutes

Approved by HARC committee on Nov. 28, 2016

Attendees: Chair Jim Jipson, Brendan Kelly, Dean DeBolt, Diane Bagwell, John Reeves, Subhash Bagui and Ethan Friedland.

Committee members Martha Saunders and Gayle Baugh were unable to make the meeting.

Minutes prepared by Geri Battist.

#### **WELCOME**

Chair Jim Jipson called the meeting to order at 4:02 p.m. and welcomed everyone.

## **INTRODUCTIONS**

Introductions of committee members were made.

## **APPROVAL OF MINUTES**

Motion was made, seconded by Ethan Friedland and approved by all members present to approve the April 10, 2014 minutes.

#### **CHAIR'S REPORT**

Chair Jipson reviewed the role of the committee with committee members. Clarification was made as to whether or not it was considered a conflict of interest if a committee member had a social or business relationship with a candidate. Conflict of interest and reason for recuse from formal voting was necessary only if a committee member moved a candidate's name forward for consideration.

## **HONORARY DEGREE CANDIDATE NOMINATION**

The committee reviewed one nomination for an honorary degree candidate (LHD: Doctor of Humane Letters). The committee made a request through Dr. Brendan Kelly to notify the nominator to provide additional information that would demonstrate candidate's worthiness for honorary degree. The committee set a timetable to reconvene in April to review any additional information prepared for this nomination.

# **OTHER BUSINESS**

The committee would like to review examples of other recipients of honorary doctorate degrees at comparable institutions.

# **ADJOURNMENT**

The meeting adjourned at 4:49 p.m.