HONORARY AWARDS & RECOGNITION COMMITTEE MEETING April 10, 2014 Minutes

Approved by HARC committee on Feb. 16, 2015

Attendees: Chair Jim Jipson, Brendan Kelly, Dean DeBolt, Anita Solarski, John Reeves, Subhash Bagui and Christopher Hill.

Committee members Martha Saunders and Gayle Baugh were unable to make the meeting.

Minutes prepared by Becky Luntsford.

WELCOME

Chair Jim Jipson called the meeting to order at 9:35 a.m. and welcomed everyone.

INTRODUCTIONS

Introductions of committee members were made.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Motion was made, seconded and approved to approve the October 29, 2013 minutes.

CHAIR'S REPORT

Chair Jipson announced that committee member, Gayle Baugh is out of the country. Prior to her departure, Gayle provided her proxy to Chair Jipson.

HONORARY DEGREE CANDIDATE NOMINATION

The committee reviewed the nomination of Ann F. Belleau as an honorary degree candidate. After thoughtful deliberation and discussion, consensus among committee members was reached to award the UWF Presidential Medal of Honor to Ann F. Belleau. The medal will be presented at the December 2014 Commencement ceremony.

OTHER BUSINESS

Chair Jipson and committee members discussed the benefits of continued promotion of the awards and recognitions process and nominations and the prestige associated with these honors. It was agreed Chair Jipson will make a request of President Bense to attend an upcoming Extended Cabinet meeting and make a presentation promoting the HARC and encourage thoughtful nominations from colleagues on campus.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 10:13 a.m.