# HONORARY AWARDS & RECOGNITION COMMITTEE MEETING Minutes

## October 29, 2013

Minutes approved by HARC on April 10, 2014

Attendees: Chair Jim Jipson, Martha Saunders, Brendan Kelly, Gayle Baugh, John Reeves, Subhash Bagui and Chris Hill

Committee members Dean DeBolt and Anita Solarski were unable to make the meeting.

Minutes prepared by Becky Luntsford

## **WELCOME**

Chair Jim Jipson called the meeting to order at 3:02 p.m. and welcomed everyone.

## **INTRODUCTIONS**

Introductions of committee members were made.

## **APPROVAL OF MINUTES**

Motion was made, seconded and approved to approve the March 29, 2013 minutes with one typographical error revision.

## **CHAIR'S REPORT**

#### **Committee Roles**

Chair Jipson explained that prior to this meeting, committee members were provided a copy of the *Honorary Awards and Recognitions Committee Charter* with revisions. Chair Jipson asked for a motion to approve the proposed changes to the HARC Charter.

The President presents candidates <u>for honorary doctorates who are</u> recommended by the Committee along with supporting documents to the Board of Trustees for confirmation. <u>Recommendations for Honorary Doctorates require a 2/3rds majority vote of the Committee. The President has delegated authority by the Board of Trustees to bestow <u>Presidential and Founder's medals. A simple majority of the committee, with concurrence of the President is required for awarding of these two honors.</u></u>

Motion was made, seconded and approved to approve the HONORARY AWARDS AND RECOGNITIONS COMMITTEE CHARTER revisions as presented.

#### **Timetable**

Chair Jipson and committee members discussed the benefits of promoting the awards and recognitions process and nominations earlier each semester. It was agreed that beginning Spring, 2014 the committee will promote the HARC and encourage nominations from colleagues on campus earlier, allowing additional time for reviewing nominations and finalizing commencement plans.

#### PRESIDENTIAL FOUNDER'S MEDALLION CANDIDATE

There was consensus among committee members present to approve the nomination of Ms. Shigeko Honda to receive the Presidential Founder's Medallion. The nomination will be presented to the UWF Board of Trustees. With Board approval, the award will be presented at Commencement on December 14, 2013.

## **HONORARY DEGREE CANDIDATE**

There was consensus among committee members to approve the nomination of Brigadier General Michael L. Ferguson, U.S. Army (Ret.) to receive the Honorary Doctorate of Humane Letters. The committee also made a recommendation to ask General Ferguson to be Commencement speaker at both ceremonies on May 3, 2014. The nomination will be presented to the UWF Board of Trustees. With Board approval, the degree will be presented at the May 2014 Commencement ceremony.

## **OTHER BUSINESS**

No additional business.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

The meeting adjourned at 3:45 p.m.