The Seven Jewels

The original seven include those men who were members of both organizations, the Social Study Club, 1905-06, and the Fraternity, 1906-07, who had remained steadfast to the ideal of a Greek-letter Fraternity during the months of uncertainty through which the club was passing, who did not waiver in their efforts to bring about the realization of their vision, and who dared to be pioneers in an untried field of Negro student life. These seven men, the Jewels of the Fraternity are:

Henry Arthur Callis

Who, after leaving Cornell University, entered the field of Medicine.

Charles Henry Chapman

Who, after leaving Cornell University, chose the field of education as his profession.

Eugene Kinckle Jones

Was a member of the first committees on Organization, Constitution and Pins, President of Alpha Chapter and maker of Beta and Gamma Chapters. He occupies a dual place in the history of the Fraternity. He is the seventh Jewel, one of the first initiates, and served for many years as Executive Secretary of the National Urban League.

George Biddle Kelly

Who, after leaving Cornell University, became a civil engineer. The first President of the Fraternity.

Nathaniel Allison Murray

Did undergraduate and graduate work at Cornell , and later entered the field of education.

Robert Harold Ogle

Who, after leaving Cornell University, entered the secretarial field, and had the unique privilege of being attached to the Office of the Committee on Appropriations of the United States Senate.

Vertner Woodson Tandy

Who, after leaving Cornell University, became a registered architect.

Maintained by Desmond Peters Jr.
Return Home