Tuition and Fees
The schedule of tuition fees and other special fees applies to all regularly
enrolled students at the University of West Florida. Required fees are
established by the Florida Department of Education, Florida Legislature, and
UWF?s Board of Trustees and are generally updated each fall semester. The
University will make every possible effort to advertise any changes in fees when
and if they occur. Completion of registration includes payment of fees.
Residency for Tuition Purposes
To qualify as a Florida resident for tuition purposes, the student (dependent or
independent) must be a U.S. citizen, permanent resident alien, or a legal alien
granted an indefinite stay by U.S. Immigration, and must have established legal
residence in Florida for at least one year. A student who does not meet this
basic criteria cannot be classified as a resident for tuition purposes.
Questions regarding residency status upon initial application to UWF should be
directed to the Office of Admissions. Questions regarding a change in residency
status after enrollment should be directed to the Office of the Registrar (see
Change of Residency Status).
Tuition and Registration Fees
The following schedule of fees lists the approved per credit hour fees in effect
at the time of publication of this Catalog and is generally updated each fall
semester. Fees actually charged will be in accordance with the fee schedule
approved by the Florida Legislature and Florida Board of Education, and UWF?s
Board of Trustees.
Tuition and fees rates for FALL SEMESTER 2006
were as follows:
|Courses at Other
|3rd Time Repeat Course
Fees (Pensacola campus)
Alabama Differential Out-of-State Tuition
Residents of Alabama are eligible for the Alabama Differential Tuition Plan, a
reduced out-of-state tuition rate. For more information, new students should
contact the Office of Admissions and current students should contact the Office
of the Registrar.
Alabama residents must be a U.S. citizen,
permanent resident alien, or legal alien granted indefinite stay by INS, and
meet one of the following requirements to qualify for differential tuition:
- Be an independent person, according to
the Federal Income Tax Code, who has established and maintained legal ties
within the state of Alabama as evident by a combination of driver?s license,
vehicle registration, voter registration, Declaration of Domicile, etc. for
the previous 12 months. If qualifying as a spouse of a legal resident of
Alabama, a copy of the marriage certificate is also required.
- Be a dependent person, according to the Federal Income Tax Code, whose
parent or legal guardian has established and maintained legal ties within
the state of Alabama as evident by a combination of parent/guardian?s most
recent IRS return (section listing dependents) and parent/legal guardian?s
driver?s license, vehicle registration, voter registration, Declaration of
Domicile, etc. for the previous 12 months.
- Be a member of the Armed Services of the United States, on active
military duty pursuant to military orders, who is stationed within the state
of Alabama or whose state of legal residence, as evident by the HOR or LES,
is Alabama. If qualifying as a spouse of a qualified armed services member,
a copy of the marriage certificate is also required. The most recent IRS
return (section listing dependents) may be required for dependent child.
UWF?s differential out of state tuition for qualifying residents of the state of
Alabama consist of the Florida in-state tuition plus $42.00 per semester hour.
The $42.00 Alabama differential amount is based on the UWF Schedule of Tuition
and Fees for the academic year 2006-2007 and is subject to change for the
2007-2008 academic year.
Repeat Course Surcharge
By act of the 1997 Florida Legislature (H.B. 1545), each public university of
Florida is required to implement a repeat course surcharge for students who take
a State-funded undergraduate course for the third time.
Students who take the same course for the third time at UWF are subject to
increased matriculation fee of 100% of the cost of instruction. See section on
Repeat Course Surcharge under Registration.
Admission Application Fee: $30.00
Students submitting an admission application for degree-seeking status are
required to pay a $30 nonrefundable application fee. Students applying for the
non-degree category are not required to pay the application fee until
degree-seeking status is requested.
Diploma Replacement Fee: $10.00
This is a replacement fee for preparation of a duplicate diploma.
Payment Fee: $100.00
A late payment fee is assessed to students who do not pay full tuition by the
designated deadlines (see Academic Calendar).
Late Registration Fee: $50.00
A late registration fee is assessed when a student does not begin registration
during the designated registration periods (see Academic Calendar and
registration sections in the Catalog and on the web).
Materials and Supply Fee: variable amount per course/per semester
Each University President is authorized to assess Material and Supply Fees not
to exceed the amount necessary to offset the cost of materials or supply items
which are consumed in the course of the student?s instructional activities,
excluding the cost of equipment and equipment repairs and maintenance. This
varies depending on the materials and supplies required for the individual
course. Specific fees are listed on the web and in the Navigation Guide.
Nautilus Card: $10.00
The Nautilus Card is the official University photo I.D. card for students,
faculty, and staff. It serves as the library card, debit card, meal card, and
copy card. It is required for access to recreation facilities and the student
health center, for tickets to University events, and for financial aid delivery.
A onetime fee is assessed, and all students attending classes on the Pensacola
campus are required to obtain the Nautilus Card. Picture identification is
required. A fee of $15 will be charged for a replacement card.
New Student Orientation for Transfer Fee: $38.45
This fee covers supplies, food, and Nautilus Card payment for the one day
New Student Orientation for Freshmen Fee: $91.87
This fee covers supplies, food, Nautilus Card payment, and lodging during
orientation for freshmen students entering in the Fall. For students entering in
the Summer and Spring there is a $38.45 fee which covers supplies, food, and
Nautilus Card payment.
On-Line Campus Fee: variable amount per course/per semester
Special fee assessed to cover increased cost of courses offered off-campus or
Reinstatement Fee: $150.00
A late registration and payment fee is assessed to students whose registrations
were canceled due to nonpayment of fees and whose appeal has been approved for
reinstatement. Reinstatements are not automatic.
Returned Check Service Charge: $25.00/$30.00/$40.00
A returned check charge is assessed to students who have a check returned by a
bank to UWF. The service charges are: $25.00 if the face amount of the check
does not exceed $50; $30.00 if the face value exceeds $50 but does not exceed
$300; $40.00 if the face value exceeds $300, or an amount up to five percent of
the face amount of the check, whichever is greater.
Standard Tests Fee: At cost
A fee is assessed for test materials and related factoring used in standardized
tests such as the Graduate Record Exam.
Student Health Fee: $3.64 per semester hour
A health fee is assessed for each semester hour of registration for courses
offered on the Pensacola campus (fee is included in the tuition assessment).
Students enrolled in courses offered at locations other than the Pensacola
campus may utilize the University health service by paying the per credit hour
health fee for all courses in which they are enrolled.
Upon request to the University Fee Appeals Committee, the health fee will be
refunded to students interning or co-oping outside Escambia and Santa Rosa
Transcript Fee: $10.00
This fee is assessed for each official transcript issued and must be paid at the
time of transcript order.