UWF Catalog cover 2006/2007 Catalog
University of West Florida
11000 University Parkway
Pensacola, FL 32514-5750
(850) 474-2000


Table of Contents
Welcome to UWF
Telephone Directory
Academic Calendars
Year 2006/2007
Fall Semester 2006
     Spring Semester 2007
     Summer Semester 2007

University Mission
Degrees, Areas of Specialization,

After Admission
Financial Assistance
Student Activities
Student Services and Resources
Tuition and Fees
Military and Veterans Information
Registration and Records
Academic Policies
Graduation and General Degree

Public Service and Research Centers
College Mission Statements
Undergraduate Degree Programs
Master's Degree Programs
Specialist Degree Programs
Doctoral Degree Programs
Course Numbering System
Course Listings and Descriptions

Florida Board of Education
F. Phillip Handy, Chair, Winter Park
T. Willard Fair, Vice Chair, Miami
Donna Callaway, Tallahassee
Roberto Martinez, Coral Gables
Phoebe Raulerson, Okeechobee
Kathleen Shanahan, Tampa
Linda Taylor, Ft. Myers
John Winn, Commissioner of Education

Florida Board of Governors
Carolyn K. Roberts, Chair, Ocala
John Dasburg, Vice Chair, Miami
Jorge Arrizurieta, Coral Gables
Akshay Desai, St. Petersburg
Ann W. Duncan, Tampa
Charles "Charlie" Edwards, Fort Myers
Joe Goldberg, Student Representative, UF
J. Stanley Marshall, Tallahassee
Frank T. Martin, Tallahassee
Sheila M. McDevitt, Tampa
Lynn Pappas, Jacksonville
Ava L. Parker, Jacksonville
Martha Pelaez, Faculty Representative, FIU
Tico Perez, Orlando
John W. Temple, Boca Raton
John Winn, Commissioner of Education
Zachariah P. Zachariah, Sea Ranch Lakes

K. C. Clark, Chair, St. Petersburg Beach
Honor Bell, Sr., Vice Chair, Pensacola
Nancy Fetterman, Pensacola
Marny Gilluly, Washington D.C.
Jeanne Goodwin, Pensacola
Dr. Jay Gould, Faculty Senate President, Pensacola
Sharon Hess-Herrick, Pensacola
General Chuck Horner, USAF (Retired), Shalimar
Catherine Kelly, Jacksonville
J. Collier Merrill, Pensacola
Timothy Roberts, SGA President, Pensacola
Roy W. Smith, Jr., Pensacola
J. T. Young, Pensacola

Office of the President
Executive Vice President Harold M. White, Jr.
Chief of Staff and Assistant Corporate Secretary to the Board of Trustees Kimberly B. Spear
Executive Specialist and Assistant Corporate Secretary to the Board of Trustees Faye H. Bowers
Executive Specialist Trenton Taylor
Sr. Executive Secretary Vickie Lindsey

President's Division
Associate Vice President for  Human Resources Sherell Hendrickson
Associate Vice President for Information Technology Michael F. Dieckmann
Associate Vice President for Internal Auditing and Management Consulting J. Betsy Bowers
Associate Vice President for University Marketing Communications J. Patrick Crawford
Associate Vice President for University Planning Robert G. Norris
Interim General Counsel Anita Schenberger
Interim Executive Director, West Florida Historic Preservation, Inc. Richard Brosnaham
Director, Informal Dispute Resolution and Americans with Disabilities Act Catherine S. Powell
Director, Office of University Budgets Barry L. Brighton

Division of Academic Affairs
Vice Provost for Educational Outreach Wesley J. Little
Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs Barbara G. Lyman
Associate Vice President for Diversity Phyllis Metcalf-Turner
Associate Vice President for Enrollment Services Peter F. Metarko
Associate Vice President for Research and Dean of Graduate Studies Richard S. Podemski
Executive Assistant to the Provost Shelly Y. Blake
Dean, College of Arts & Social Sciences Jane S. Halonen
Associate Dean George B. Ellenberg
Assistant Dean Thomas B. Westcott
Assistant to the Dean for Student Success Angela E. McCorvey
Dean, College of Business F. Edward Ranelli
Associate Dean W. Timothy O'Keefe
Dean, College of Professional Studies Don Chu
Associate Dean Joseph M. Peters
Assistant Dean Julie C. Kunselman
Dean, Fort Walton Beach Campus tba
Dean, University Libraries Dana M. Sally
Associate Director, University Libraries Helen J. Wigersma
Director, Academic Technology Center and Continuing/Distance Education Pamela T. Northrup
Director, Admissions Richard A. Barth
Associate Director Edward G. Rogers
Associate Director Andrew J. Telatovich
Director, Center for Environmental Diagnostics & Bioremediation K. Ranga Rao
Director, Financial Aid Cathy R. Brown
Associate Director Janice A. Bass
State Director, Florida Small Business Development Centers Jerry G. Cartwright
Director, Educational/Training Programs Mardi McDaniel-King
University Registrar Ann H. Dziadon
Associate Registrar Geri Genovese
Director, SASS Robert E. Shaw
Director, Research and Sponsored Programs Sandra VanderHeyden
Director, Center for University Teaching, Learning and Assessment (CUTLA) tba

Division of Administrative Affairs
Interim Vice President for Administrative Affairs BERT C. HARTLEY
Associate Vice President for Facilities Services James R. Barnett
Assistant Vice President for Procurement Services David O'Brien
Executive Assistant to Vice President for Administrative Affairs Angela Wallace
Controller Colleen Asmus
Director, Architectural and Engineering Services tba
Director, Business and Auxiliary Services  Ellen P. Till
Director, Environmental Health & Safety tba
Director, Facilities Management Richard L. Walter
Interim Director, University Police John Warren

Division of Student Affairs
Vice President for Student Affairs DEBORAH L. FORD
Associate Vice President for Student Affairs James R. Hurd
Dean of Students tba
Executive Assistant to the Vice President for Student Affairs Tammy L. McGuckin
Executive Director, Recreation & Sports Services and University Commons & Student Activities William M. Healey
Assistant Dean of Students - Student Transition Programs & Greek Affairs Michael D. Jasek
Assistant Dean of Students - Leadership Programs & Student Disability Resource Center Lusharon Wiley
Director, Career Services tba
Director, Counseling & Student Health Services Rebecca Magerkorth
Director, Educational Research Center for Child Development Tulsa L. Morein
Director, Health Center Bernice Robbins
Director, Housing and Residence Life Kay-lynne Taylor
Director, Intercollegiate Athletics Richard C. Berg
Director, Testing and Technology Gregory E. Dziadon

Division of Development
Vice President for Development DEAN VAN GALEN
Director, Alumni Relations Katherine C. Etheredge
Executive Director, UWF Foundation Susan E. Stephenson
Director, Development  Martha Lee Blodgett
Director, Operations Analysis Andrea O. Sortino