2005/2006 Catalog
University of West Florida


Table of Contents
Telephone Directory
Academic Calendars
Year 2005/2006
Fall Semester 2005
     Spring Semester 2006
     Summer Semester 2006

University Mission
Degrees, Areas of Specialization,

After Admission
Financial Assistance
Student Activities
Student Services and Resources
Tuition and Fees
Military and Veterans Information
Registration and Records
Academic Policies
Graduation and General Degree

Public Service and Research Centers
College Mission Statements
Undergraduate Degree Programs
Master's Degree Programs
Specialist Degree Programs
Doctoral Degree Programs
Course Numbering System
Course Listings and Descriptions


Florida Board of Education
Phillip Handy, Chair, Winter Park
T. Willard Fair, Vice Chair, Miami
Donna Callaway, Tallahassee
Julia L. Johnson, Clermont
Roberto Martinez, Coral Gables
Phoebe Raulerson, Okeechobee
Linda Taylor, Ft. Myers
John Winn, Commissioner of Education

Florida Board of Governors
Carolyn K. Roberts, Chair, Ocala
John Dasburg, Vice Chair, Miami
Rene Albors, Winter Park
Akshay Desai, St. Petersburg
Ann W. Duncan, Tampa
Jarrett R. Eady, Student Representative, FSU
J. Stanley Marshall, Tallahassee
William "Bill" McCollum, Orlando
Sheila M. McDevitt, Tampa
Gerri Moll, Naples
Lynn Pappas, Jacksonville
Ava L. Parker, Jacksonville
Martha Pelaez, Faculty Representative, FIU
Peter S. Rummell, Jacksonville
John W. Temple, Boca Raton
John Winn, Commissioner of Education
Zachariah P. Zachariah, Sea Ranch Lakes

K. C. Clark, Chair, St. Petersburg Beach
Honor Bell, Sr., Vice Chair, Pensacola
Dr. Lornetta Epps, Pensacola
Nancy Fetterman, Pensacola
Marny Gilluly, Washington D.C.
Dr. Jay Gould, Faculty Senate President, Pensacola
Sharon Hess-Herrick, Pensacola
General Chuck Horner, USAF (Retired), Shalimar
J. Collier Merrill, Pensacola, Chair
Steven Patrick Russell, SGA President, Pensacola
Roy W. Smith, Jr., Pensacola
J. T. Young, Pensacola

Office of the President
Executive Vice President Harold M. White, Jr.
Deputy Chief of Staff and Assistant Corporate Secretary to the Board of Trustees Kimberly B. Spear
Executive Specialist and Assistant Corporate Secretary to the Board of Trustees Faye H. Bowers
Director, Government Relations Janice Gilley
Executive Specialist Trenton Taylor
Sr. Executive Secretary Vickie Lindsey

President's Division
General Counsel Regina DeIulio
Associate Vice President for Internal Auditing and Management Consulting J. Betsy Bowers
Interim Executive Director, West Florida Historic Preservation, Inc. Richard Brosnaham
Associate Vice President for Information Technology Michael F. Dieckmann
Associate Vice President for University Marketing Communications J. Patrick Crawford
Associate Vice President for  Human Resources Sherell Hendrickson
Director, Informal Dispute Resolution and Americans with Disabilities Act Catherine S. Powell
Associate Vice President for University Planning Robert G. Norris

Division of Academic Affairs
Vice Provost for Educational Outreach Wesley J. Little
Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs tba
Associate Vice President for Diversity tba
Associate Vice President for Enrollment Services Peter F. Metarko
Associate Vice President for Research and Dean of Graduate Studies tba
Executive Assistant to the Provost Shelly Y. Blake
Dean, College of Arts & Social Sciences Jane S. Halonen
Associate Dean George B. Ellenberg
Assistant Dean Thomas B. Westcott
Assistant to the Dean for Student Success Angela E. McCorvey
Dean, College of Business F. Edward Ranelli
Associate Dean Marcia R. Howard
Dean, College of Professional Studies tba
Associate Dean Joseph M. Peters
Assistant Dean Julie C. Kunselman
Dean, University Libraries tba
Associate Director, University Libraries Helen J. Wigersma
Director, Academic Technology Center Pamela T. Northrup
Director, Admissions R. Matthew Hulett
Associate Director Edward G. Rogers
Associate Director Andrew J. Telatovich
Director, Continuing/Distance Education tba
Director, Center for Environmental Diagnostics & Bioremediation K. Ranga Rao
Director, Financial Aid Cathy R. Brown
Associate Director Janice A. Bass
State Director, Florida Small Business Development Centers Jerry G. Cartwright
Director, International Education and Programs A. Michael Yots
Director, Educational/Training Programs Mardi McDaniel-King
University Registrar Ann H. Dziadon
Associate Registrar tba
Director, SASS Robert E. Shaw
Director, Sponsored Research Sandra VanderHeyden
Director, Center for University Teaching, Learning and Assessment (CUTLA) W. Gary Howard

Division of Administrative Affairs
Vice President for Administrative Affairs CORNELIUS WOOTEN
Associate Vice President for Facilities Services James R. Barnett
Director, Business and Auxiliary Services David O'Brien
Controller Janice L. Woody
Director, Architectural and Engineering Services David C. Luttrell
Director, Business and Auxiliary Services  Ellen P. Till
Director, Environmental Health & Safety Ron H. Hambrick
Director, Facilities Management Richard L. Walter
Director, Office of University Budgets tba
Interim Director, University Police John Warren
Director, Procurement & Contracts tba

Division of Student Affairs
Vice President for Student Affairs DEBORAH L. FORD
Associate Vice President for Student Affairs James R. Hurd
Assistant Vice President for Student Development and Director of University Counseling Center Jeffrey W. Pollard
Dean of Students Richard A. Barth
Executive Assistant to the Vice President for Student Affairs Tammy L. McGuckin
Executive Director, Recreation & Sports Services and University Commons & Student Activities William M. Healey
Assistant Dean of Students - Student Transition Programs & Greek Affairs Michael D. Jasek
Assistant Dean of Students - Leadership Programs Lusharon Wiley
Director, Career Services tba
Director, Educational Research Center for Child Development Tulsa L. Morein
Director, Health Center Bernice Robbins
Director, Housing and Residence Life Kay-lynne Taylor
Director, Intercollegiate Athletics Richard C. Berg
Director, Student Disability Resource Center Barbara Fitzpatrick
Director, Student Health & Wellness Education Rebecca Magerkorth
Director, Testing and Technology Gregory E. Dziadon
Director, Volunteer UWF! Amanda Crowell

Division of Development
Vice President for Development DEAN VAN GALEN
Director, Alumni Relations Gretchen Van Valkenberg
Executive Director, UWF Foundation Susan E. Stephenson
Director, Development  Martha Lee Blodgett