Skill-of-the-Week Tutoring Room Schedule

Rethink what you think you already know about grammar and writing.


  • The skills are offered only during the times specified below.
    • Consider our Grammar Live @ 5 on Elluminate Live sessions if you miss a skill.
  • These sessions are offered at the Main Writing Lab only.
  • The letters a and b beside a week indicate that two different skills are offered that week.  Check the yellow carbon copy of your Lab Work Form to see which skills you need, and click the weeks below to view the scheulde for those weeks.
    • Out of the 10 weeks the Lab offers these hourly grammar sessions, four of those weeks are two-skill weeks, meaning you may have to attend two sessions during those weeks.
  • Click on the skills to review the grammar rules.
Week of the SemesterRange of DatesGrammar Skills Offered
Weeks 1 and 2

Monday, January 5,
through
Friday, January 16

Writing Lab's Diagnostic Testing

Week 3

Tuesday, January 20,
through
Friday, January 23
Commas
Week 4a Monday, January 26,
through
Friday, January 30
Semicolons & Colons
Week 4b Same as above Sentence Errors:  Comma Splices, Run-ons, and Fragments
Week 5 Monday, February 2
through
Friday, February 6
Subject-Verb Agreement
Week 6 Monday, February 9,
through
Friday, February 13
Pronoun Reference & Antecedent Agreement
Week 7 Monday, February 16,
through
Friday, February 20
Pronoun Case
Week 8 Monday, February 23,
through
Friday, February 27
Diction:  Commonly Confused/Misused Words
Week 9 Monday, March 2,
through
Friday, March 6
Possessives/Apostrophes
Week 10a Monday, March 16,
through
Friday, March 20
Dangling and Misplaced Modifiers
Week 10b Same as above Verb Forms and Tenses
Week 11a Monday, March 23,
through
Friday, March 27
Faulty Comparisons
Week 11b Same as above Parallelism
Week 12a Monday, March 30,
through
Friday, April 3
Adjective and Adverb Use
Week 12b Same as above Capitalization, Italicization, Hyphenation, & Quotation Technique
Weeks 13, 14, and 15 Monday, April 6,
through
Friday, April 24

Continuous Paper Reading

No weekly Tutoring Room sessions will be offered during this time.

Week 16 Monday, April 7,
through
Friday, May 1

Final Exam Week

The Main Lab and the two Satellite Labs will be closed during this week.