Faith-Based Workshop

Held on February 10, 2012, this workshop focused on faith-based organizations and their role in supporting an aging population in Northwest Florida. Events included a panel discussion of faith-based organizations with established senior support programs in Northwest Florida, and a presentation on the role of faith-based organizations and disaster preparedness presented by BRACE (Be Ready Alliance Coordinating for Emergencies).


Participants and Presentations

Guest Speakers:

Mr. Larry Baxter, Chief, Elder Rights Bureaubaxterl@elderaffairs.org / (850) 414-2058

Presentation: "BRACE Programs and Services Overview" given by Mr. Greg Strader, Founding Executive Director, BRACE, gstrader@bereadyalliance.org / (850) 982-1396, and Mr. Stan Lollar, Executive Director, Ministry Village Olive Baptist Churchsclollar@cox.net / 850-478-0906

Panel Participants:

Ms. Lindsey Cannon, Regional Director of Catholic Charities of Northwest Florida, Pensacola, Florida, cannonl@cc.ptdiocese.org / (850) 436-8754 x 26

Father Frank Cooper, Rector, Christ the King Episcopal Church, Santa Rosa Beach, Florida, frank.cooper@christthekingepiscopal.org / (850) 267-3332

Rev. Pat MobleyHillcrest Baptist Church Senior Ministry, Pensacola, Florida, pmobley@hillcrestchurch.com / (850) 476-2233

Presentation: "Faith Community Nursing" given by Ms. Cheryl PillingSacred Heart Hospital, Program Manager of the Community Wellness Outreach Department & CHIPRA Grant Project Director, Pensacola, Florida, cpilling@shhpens.org / (850) 416-6040

Ms. Terry Takacs, Director of Senior Ministry, Gulf Breeze United Methodist Church, Gulf Breeze, Florida, ttakacs@gbumc.org / (850) 932-3594

Presentation: "Overview of the Epps Christian Center" given by Pastor Sylvia Tisdale, Founder and Pastor of Epps Christian Center, Pensacola, Florida, sylviatisdale@aol.com / (850) 572-5761

Faith-Based Workshop Flyer 2012

Feedback

Feedback