Employment in the Biological Sciences


The Department of Biology is committed to helping its graduates find employment in the field.  We encourage all of our students to make use of the resources we provide for helping you find biology-related employment after graduation.  The earlier in your education you identify potential employment opportunities, the better you will be able to tailor your education to meet the requirements of the chosen area of employment.

RESOURCES:

1.   The Job Resource Center – current job opportunities in biology-related areas are posted under “Student Job Opportunities” in the lower, left-hand menu on the main page of the Biology website at uwf.edu/biology. Potential employers in the region list job opportunities at this site and our partner in this resource, After College, routinely lists jobs in Florida. Students can post their resumes at the site as well.  We encourage our students to avail themselves of these services. 

2.   Career counseling interviews with faculty -  faculty will use their contacts  and expertise to help guide students toward jobs in the student’s area of interest. Contact information and area of expertise is listed in the table below for Biology faculty. Please arrange for a career counseling appointment by contacting the faculty in question by telephone or email.

FacultyExpertiseContact Information
Dr. Kis Behan Clinical Lab Sciences

kbehan@uwf.edu
474-3060

Dr. Wayne Bennett Marine Biology - Fish Ecophysiology

wbennett@uwf.edu
474-3362

Dr. Peter Cavnar Cell Motility & Molecular Biology

pcavnar@uwf.edu
474-2306

Dr. H. Chung Genetics

hchung@uwf.edu
474-2321

Dr. Tony Daly-Engel Marine Vertebrates & Genetics

tdalyengel@uwf.edu
857-6414

Dr. Phil Darby Wetlands Ecology & Management

pdarby@uwf.edu
474-2647

Dr. Ted Fox Plant Physiology/Medicinal Botany

tfox@uwf.edu
474-2754

Dr. Wade Jeffrey Marine Biology - Microbiology

wjeffrey@uwf.edu
474-2472

FacultyExpertiseContact Information
Dr. Joe Lepo Environmental Pollution

jlepo@uwf.edu
857-6098

Dr. Chris Pomory Marine Biology - Intertebrate Fauna

cpomory@uwf.edu
857-6028

Dr. Phil Ryals Biochemistry & Molecular Biology - Protists

pryals@uwf.edu
474-2751

Dr. Dick Snyder Marine Biology - Ecology

rsnyder@uwf.edu
474-2806

Dr. George Stewart Parasites & Infectious Disease

gstewart@uwf.edu
473-7226

Dr. Paul Nash Immunology

pnash@uwf.edu
474-2649

3.   All Federal Agencies www.usajobs.gov

4.   State level versions of health and environmentally related departments https://jobs.myflorida.com

Feedback

Feedback