Faculty and Staff

Archaeology Institute


staff_benchley

Elizabeth Benchley

Director of the Division and the Archaeology Institute

Education: M.A. and Ph.D. University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee
Area: Terrestrial Archaeology
Professional Interests: Mississippian prehistoric period, colonial period, historic preservation in archaeology, midwest and southeastern archaeology
Teaches: Historic Preservation in Archaeology, North American Archaeology, Terrestrial Archaeological Field Methods, and Archaeological Laboratory Methods
Phone: (850) 857-6317 or 474-3015
Email: ebenchle@uwf.edu


staff_carroll

Norine Carroll

Collections Manager/Research Associate

Education: M.A. State University of New York at F.I.T.
Area: Collections Management and Conservation 
Professional Interests: Collections management, conservation and preservation of marine and terrestrial archaeological objects, collaboration with international museum and university collections staff and facilities, cultural sensitivity in regards to the handling and care of archaeological and ethnographic objects.
Phone: (850) 474-3050
Email: ncarroll@uwf.edu


staff_aholmes

April Holmes

Staff Archaeologist


staff_Lloyd

Jan Lloyd

Archaeology Laboratory Director

Area: Terrestrial Archaeology
Phone: (850) 474-2087
Email: jlloyd@uwf.edu


staff_jmelcher

Jennifer Melcher

Staff Archaeologist

Email: jmelcher@uwf.edu


 

staff_mims

Karen Mims

Office Administrator

Area: Bookkeeping for all archaeology contracts and grants; Institute public information; primary contact for general information, tours and speakers
Phone: (850) 474-3015, Fax: (850) 474-2764
Email: kmims@uwf.edu


staff_cparker

Cathy Parker

Zooarch Lab Coordinator

Email: cparker@uwf.edu


staff_phillips

John C. Phillips

Research Associate

Education: M.A. University of Mississippi
Area: Terrestrial Archaeology
Professional Interests: Database and GIS applications in archaeology, water-powered industry, precolumbian settlement patterns, lithic technology; Southeastern U.S.
Teaches: Archaeology Field Survey, GIS Archaeology, Data Analysis, Terrestrial Field Methods
Phone: (850) 857-6328 or 474-3015
Email: jphillip@uwf.edu


staff_csommerkamp

Cindy Sommerkamp

Staff Archaeologist

Email: csommerkamp@uwf.edu


staff_stringfield

Margo Stringfield

Research Associate

Education: M.A. University of West Florida
Area: Public Archaeology and Exhibit Design
Professional Interests: British colonial period and urban archaeology, cemeteries, public interpretation
Phone: (850) 857-6334 or 474-3015
Email: mstringfield@uwf.edu


Feedback

Feedback