Languages – Distribution

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Pashto and Dari both belong to the Indo-European group of languages and are related to European languages rather than to Arabic or Asian languages. Dari is derived from "darbari" meaning the language of the court of kings, spoken in the central, northern, and western provinces of Afghanistan along with local tribal languages. Dari is used in most government and business transactions. Pashto is spoken in the southern, southeastern provinces of Afghanistan and western Pakistan.

Both Pashto and Dari are written primarily with the Arabic alphabet, however, there are some modifications with the additional letters not found in Arabic. Dari has four more letters and Pashto has those four plus an additional eight.




Back Home Next