Resources: End Notes

Geography

  1. FATA http://fata.gov.pk/
  2. The Jammu and Kashmir Conflict http://www.yale.edu/macmillan/globalization/kashmir.pdf
  3. Ibid.
  4. Kashmir Observer http://www.kashmirobserver.net/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=2981:gilgit-baltistan-autonomy&catid=8:opinion&Itemid=9
  5. Its Pakistan http://www.itspakistan.net/pakistan/northern-areas.aspx
  6. Pakistan.Net http://www.pakistan.net/cities/islamabad/islamabad.htm
  7. Britannica Online http://www.britannica.com/EBchecked/topic/50834/Balochistan
  8. DAWN.Com http://www.dawn.com/wps/wcm/connect/dawn-content-library/dawn/news/pakistan/provinces/04-taliban-cash-in-on-pakistans-untapped-gem-wealth-qs-03
  9. Travel and Culture http://www.travel-culture.com/pakistan/peshawar.shtml
  10. http://pakistancity.org/karachi_online.html
  11. Lahore City Portal http://www.lahore.ecityportal.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=25&Itemid=50
  12. Pakistan Travel Web http://travel.web.pk/destinations/cities/quetta.asp
  13. My Gilgit.Com http://www.mygilgit.com/Gilgit/

History

  1. Archaeology Online http://www.archaeologyonline.net/artifacts/harappa-mohenjodaro.html
  2. Pakistan Ministry of Information and Broadcasting http://www.infopak.gov.pk/History.aspx
  3. History of Pakistan http://www.historyofnations.net/asia/pakistan.html
  4. Story of Pakistan http://www.storyofpakistan.com/articletext.asp?artid=A134
  5. History of Pakistan http://www.historyofnations.net/asia/pakistan.html
  6. Biographicon http://www.biographicon.com/view/zl3y5
  7. History of Pakistan http://www.historyofnations.net/asia/pakistan.html
  8. Info Please http://www.infoplease.com/ipa/A0885216.html
  9. CNN http://www.cnn.com/2007/WORLD/asiapcf/12/27/pakistan.sharif/index.html
  10. BBC News http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/south_asia/6653475.stm
  11. U.S. Air Force http://www.af.mil/news/story.asp?id=123130086

 

People and Ethnic Groups

  1. Wasaib.Com http://www.wasaib.com/
  2. Khyber.Org http://www.khyber.org/culture/pashtunwali.shtml
  3. The Baluch http://www.thebaluch.com/030608_article.php?id=7675
  4. Hunza: Truth, Myths, & Lies http://www.biblelife.org/hunza.htm
  5. History of the Kalash http://www.indigenouspeople.net/chitral.htm
  6. Country Studies http://countrystudies.us/pakistan/32.htm
  7. Gang Research.Net http://gangresearch.net/Globalization/regions/southasia/mqm.htm
  8. U.N. Refugee Agency http://www.unhcr.org/cgi-bin/texis/vtx/refworld/rwmain?page=search&docid=49749cd32&skip=0&query=baluch
  9. Sociology Guide http://www.sociologyguide.com/types-of-society/Tribal-Society.php
  10. Ibid.
  11. Ibid.
  12. Ibid.
  13. Abu-Lughod, Lila. Veiled Sentiments: Honor and Poetry in a Bedouin Society. Berkeley: University of California Press, 2000.
  14. The Baluch http://www.thebaluch.com/030608_article.php?id=7675
  15. Ibid.
  16. Abu-Lughod, Lila. Veiled Sentiments: Honor and Poetry in a Bedouin Society. Berkeley: University of California Press, 2000.
  17. Kakar,Palwasha. “Tribal law of Pashtunwali and Women’s Legislative Authority,” Islamic Legal Studies Program at Harvard Law School, http://www.law.harvard.edu/programs/ilsp/research/kakar.pdf

Language

  1. University of Pennsylvania Language Loghttp://itre.cis.upenn.edu/~myl/languagelog/archives/005262.html
  2. U.N. Human Deveopment Reportshttp://hdrstats.undp.org/en/countries/country_fact_sheets/cty_fs_PAK.html
  3. Khalique, Harris. The Urdu-English Relationship and its Impact on Pakistan’s Social Development. The Annual of Urdu Studies. http://www.urdustudies.com/pdf/22/09HKhalique.pdf
  4. Omniglot http://www.omniglot.com/writing/urdu.htm
  5. Omniglot http://www.omniglot.com/writing/pashto.htm

Religious Influences

  1. History News Network http://hnn.us/articles/934.html
  2. Statistics Division Government of Pakistan http://www.statpak.gov.pk/depts/pco/statistics/other_tables/pop_by_religion.pdf
  3. Schmidle, Nicholas. “Faith and Ecstasy”.  Smithsonian. Dec. 2008: 36-47.
  4. Religious Tolerance.Org http://www.religioustolerance.org/hinduism.htm
  5. Religious Tolerance.Org http://www.religioustolerance.org/sikhism.htm
  6. Janna.Org http://www.jannah.org/sisters/intermarriage.html
  7. Free Dictionary http://www.thefreedictionary.com/Mulla
  8. Religious Facts http://www.religionfacts.com/islam/practices/salat-prayer.htm
  9. Religious Facts http://www.religionfacts.com/islam/practices/sawm-fasting.htm
  10. Religious Facts http://www.religionfacts.com/islam/practices/hajj-pilgrimage.htm
  11. Religious Facts http://www.religionfacts.com/islam/practices/salat-prayer.htm
  12. Hounslow Jamia Masjid & Islamic Centre http://www.hounslowmasjid.co.uk/page2/page10/page30/page30.html
  13. Mahmoud M. Ayoub, Islam: Faith and History, pp. 68-69)
  14. PBS Frontline “Analysis Wahhabism” http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/shows/saudi/analyses/wahhabism.html
  15. Ministry of Information and Broadcasting - Pakistan http://www.pak.gov.pk/constitution_pakistan.aspx
  16. Ibid.
  17. Ibid.
  18. U.S. Department of State http://www.state.gov/g/drl/rls/irf/2007/90233.htm
  19. Ministry of Information and Broadcasting - Pakistan http://www.pak.gov.pk/constitution_pakistan.aspx
  20. Ibid.
  21. CNN http://www.cnn.com/2009/WORLD/asiapcf/02/17/pakistan.taliban/index.html?iref=mpstoryvw
  22. The Guardian http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2009/mar/08/islam-pakistan-rahman-baba
  23. Smith, Greg. The Tangled Web of Taliban and Associated Movements. Journal of Strategic Security.
  24. Ibid.
  25. Ibid.
  26. Ibid.
  27. The New York Times http://topics.nytimes.com/topics/reference/timestopics/people/m/hakimullah_mehsud/index.html
  28. Smith, Greg. The Tangled Web of Taliban and Associated Movements. Journal of Strategic Security.
  29. Ibid.
  30. Ibid.

Society and Norms

  1. World Health Organization http://www.who.int/countries/pak/en/
  2. Ibid.
  3. Hussain, R. Community perceptions of reason for consanguinous marriages in Pakistan http://ro.uow.edu.au/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1042&context=hbspapers
  4. World Wedding Traditions http://www.worldweddingtraditions.com/locations/asian_traditions/pakistani_traditions.html
  5. Barrister Tahseen Butt and Associates http://www.tahseenbutt.com/divorce_lawyers_pakistan.html
  6. U.N. Publications http://www.un.org/esa/population/publications/worldmarriage/worldmarriagepatterns2000.pdf
  7. U.N. refugee Agency http://www.unhcr.org/refworld/country,IRBC,PAK,4784deeec,0.html
  8. Mortenson, Greg and David Oliver Relin. Three Cups of Tea. New York: Penguin, 2006.
  9. Ministry of Women Development - Government of Pakistan http://www.mowd.gov.pk/
  10. Women in the Qur'an http://www.womaninthequran.com/
  11. BBC News http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/4583911.stm
  12. IRNI News http://www.irinnews.org/report.aspx?reportid=61708
  13. Ibid.
  14. Jami, Humaira. Condition and Status of Hijras in Pakistan. National Institute of Psychology. Quaid-i-Azam University.  http://bangkok2005.anu.edu.au/papers/Jami.pdf
  15. Pakistan Fashion http://www.fashionspakistan.net
  16. Ibid.
  17. Ibid.
  18. Ibid.
  19. Mortenson, Greg and David Oliver Relin. Three Cups of Tea. New York: Penguin, 2006.
  20. Ministry of Information and Broadcasting http://www.infopak.gov.pk
  21. FATA http://www.fata.gov.pk/subpages/admnsystem.php
  22. Ibid.
  23. Britannica Online http://www.britannica.com/EBchecked/topic/438805/Pakistan/23702/Transportation-and-telecommunications
  24. Ibid.
  25. Nation Master http://www.nationmaster.com/country/pk-pakistan
  26. EuroJournals.Com http://www.eurojournals.com/Pages%20from%20irjfe16sheraz.pdf
  27. U.N. Information Centre Islamabad http://www.unic.org.pk/
  28. Ministry of Information and Broadcasting http://www.infopak.gov.pk
  29. Nations Encyclopedia http://www.nationsencyclopedia.com/economies/Asia-and-the-Pacific/Pakistan-POVERTY-AND-WEALTH.html
  30. The New York Times http://graphics8.nytimes.com/packages/pdf/weekinreview/21marsh_fullpage.pdf
  31. VOA News http://www.voanews.com/uspolicy/2008-10-24-voa5.cfm
  32. Nations Encyclopedia http://www.nationsencyclopedia.com/Asia-and-Oceania/Pakistan-HEALTH.html
  33. Ibid.
  34. U. N. Office on Drugs and Crime http://www.unodc.org/documents/regional/central-asia/Illicit%20Drug%20Trends%20Report_Pakistan_rev1.pdf
  35. Ibid.
  36. Ibid.
  37. Islamic City http://www.islamicity.com
  38. Holi: Let the Colours Shower Joy http://www.holifestival.org/holi-in-pakistan.html
  39. Diwali Festival.Org http://www.diwalifestival.org/index.html

Behavior and Etiquette

  1. Mortenson, Greg and David Oliver Relin. Three Cups of Tea. New York: Penguin, 2006.
  2. Kwintessential http://www.kwintessential.co.uk/resources/global-etiquette/pakistan.html
  3. Exotic India http://www.exoticindiaart.com/article/namaste
  4. Kwintessential http://www.kwintessential.co.uk/resources/global-etiquette/pakistan.html
  5. Ibid.
  6. Kwintessential http://www.kwintessential.co.uk/resources/global-etiquette/pakistan.html
  7. Ibid.
  8. Ibid.
  9. Ibid.
  10. Ibid.
  11. Ibid.
  12. Mortenson, Greg and David Oliver Relin. Three Cups of Tea. New York: Penguin, 2006.
  13. World Health Organization: Tobacco Atlas http://www.who.int/tobacco/resources/publications/tobacco_atlas/en/index.html
  14. Food by Country http://www.foodbycountry.com/Kazakhstan-to-South-Africa/Pakistan.html
  15. Ibid.
  16. Pakistan Paedia http://www.pakistanpaedia.com/food/pakistani_food-recipes.htm
  17. Ibid.
  18. Kwintessential http://www.kwintessential.co.uk/resources/global-etiquette/pakistan.html
  19. Ibid.
  20. Park Ride Fly.Com http://www.parkrideflyusa.com/blog/2008/05/01/international-body-language-gestures-manners-dont-be-that-guy/
| | Home | | Glossary | | End Notes | | Additional Resources | | Credits | |