Languages: Distribution

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Urdu is part of the Indo-Iranian subgroup of the Indo-European language family. Urdu, which means "foreign" or "horde" in Turkish, is spoken throughout the whole country but is mainly spoken in cities, especially in the city of Karachi. Urdu is written with a version of the Arabic alphabet in the Nastaliq style. Although Urdu and English are the official national languages, each province has a provincial language. Sindhi is the provincial language in the Sindh province but Saraiki and Urdu are widely spoken. Pashto is the provincial language of the Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa Province (KPK), formerly the North West Frontier Province. However, Hindko is frequently spoken in the north of the province and Saraiki in the south. Baluchi is the provincial language of the Baluchistan province, but Pashto is predominately spoken in the north of the province. In the province of Gilgit-Baltistan there is no provincial language as the population speaks around a dozen different languages. The most frequently spoken languages in the province of Gilgit-Baltistan are Shina, Balti, Burushaski, Wakhi, and Khowar. In the Pakistani administered state of Azad Jammu and Kashmir the official language is Urdu but most of the people speak Pahari, Potwari, and Hindko. In the Federally Administered Tribal Area the official language is Pashto.

Language Map

Back Languages Next
| | Home | | Glossary | | End Notes | | Additional Resources | | Credits | |